Muchelney abbey history of halloween

History The site of the Abbey was effectively an island in the marshy and frequently flooded Somerset Levels. It was therefore an ideal religious retreat (cf. Ely Cathedral). Muchelney Abbey is thought to have been first established under a foundation charter from King Cynewulf in AD762. It was refounded in the late 10th century AD by King Athelstan as a Benedictine house dedicated to St Peter and St Paul before it was dissolved in 1538 by Henry VIII as part of the Dissolution of the Monasteries.

Muchelney Abbey on the Somerset Levels was founded by the Saxon Kings of Wessex. Unfortunately it is impossible to be precise about which one, as some of the charters granting land to Muchelney are medieval forgeries. Situated just south of Langport, Muchelney Abbey was once a landmark in the Somerset Levels and is still a draw for visitors today.

Stephen Honey will explore it's rich history if you haven't paid Muchelney Abbey a visit yet, Nov 18, 2009 Halloween is an annual holiday celebrated each year on October 31, and Halloween 2018 occurs on Wednesday, October 31.

It originated with the ancient Celtic festival of Samhain, when people would Muchelney Abbey, which lies two miles south of Langport, was once a landmark in the Somerset Levels and still has much to offer its visitors. History lovers in particular will enjoy this fascinating site but there is also plenty for families to do.

In 1205 Muchelney abbey had licence to inclose a wood on their 'island' and make it into a park. The park, which was arable in the 15th century, lay at the northern end of Netney in Thorney moor. It was divided into Kine Park and Clarkenparke in the 16th century, when it comprised 12 a.

of meadow and pasture. Muchelney Abbey is an English Heritage property in the village of Muchelney in the Somerset Levels, England. The site consists of ruined walls showing the layout of the abbey buildings constructed from the 7th to 16th and the remaining intact Abbott's House.

Once a wealthy Benedictine house, the main buildings were demolished by Henry VIII in 1538. See the richly decorated cloister walk and thatched monks lavatory



Phone: (666) 253-7462 x 2979

Email: [email protected]